Beyond Repair by Susie Tate

Beyond Repair by Susie Tate

br st bookcover

Everybody loves Katie; with her bubbly personality, her beauty, her never-ending supply of care and support for her patients and friends, and her huge sense of fun, there’s very little to dislike. Yes, she’s a bit scatty, she tends not to sweat the small stuff (like an engine light on her dashboard – that is until her Mini won’t actually start any more), and she can talk the hind legs off a donkey, but none of that stops most people from thinking she’s pretty damn adorable.
Well, most people, other than Sam, that is.

Sam is anything but bubbly. His surly demeanour is the complete opposite of Katie’s, and over the six years that she’s known him one thing has become very clear: Sam cannot stand her. The fact that he makes her nervous doesn’t help the situation. Around Sam her verbal diarrhoea seems ten times worse, the snort that she tries to hold in when she laughs refuses to be suppressed, and her clumsiness assumes clown-like proportions.

If only he weren’t quite so intimidating, she might be able to act like a normal human being, but his sheer masculine beauty is enough to throw her off before she’s even spoken to him. Then there’s the fact that he looks at her like she’s something he’s scraped off his shoe. The combination is enough to short-circuit her brain.

Katie may be bubbly and bright but unfortunately her past is not, and it’s started leaking into her present. She hides her fear from her friends as they have problems of their own, but when Sam finds out the potential danger she’s in, for some reason he is furious.

Then again, there’s a reason Sam is the way he is. He has his own demons to contend with. Shutting himself off and burying his pain has been working well for him over the last six years since leaving the Special Forces, so the last thing he wants is to spend any time with the one woman that cuts through the numbness he surrounds himself with and actually makes him feel again. But he simply can’t stand by if Katie is in danger; he can’t allow her to be hurt. Unfortunately there are other ways to be hurt, and by getting closer to Katie, Sam may inflict more damage than her past ever could.

Because Sam is damaged, and some things are beyond repair.

I give this book 5 stars

This story had me hooked from the beginning to the end and I’ve only just managed to put it down as I’ve just finished reading it, I liked both the H and h Sam and Katie and I liked the different storylines about each others pasts, Katie made me laugh as I could just see her riding her scooter and I enjoyed the banter between her and her gay bff Russell and the antics with Sarah’s kids but I did feel for her at the beginning and I could feel her humiliation which made me dislike Sam just a little but I wasn’t going to judge him yet as the story had just started and I knew there was more to him.
I liked how Sam became protective over Katie because of the threatening letters and how he had liked her all along despite basically proving to her again and again that he disliked her from the very first moment they met which was six years ago, I liked reading about Goodie and I’m looking forward to reading her story, I liked the background setting as unlike the last two books the story wasn’t set in a hospital and she seemed to work more in the community.
I liked that the book wasn’t full of darkness seeing as both Katie and Sam have had a dark past, I liked the chemistry between them and I was on the edge of my seat when Katie’s past came out and how Katie had to confront her evil ex, I liked Sam and I liked that despite him having PTSD and constantly going all hot and cold on katie he was always there for her despite him going away for a while and then to be seen on the front page of a magazine with the actress he was dating in the beginning but I liked how he explained how he got to be on the magazine and how it was all innocent.
I liked how Katie was bubbly and was most of the time in her little world because she contrasted to Sam’s darkness also I enjoyed how the story went on you got to meet more of the characters from the last two books and also Sam’s parents and sister which was refreshing, I liked seeing Sam go all posessive over katie and I was pleased that the drama over her evil ex didn’t drag on and how his part had ended satisfying, I did agree with Sam though when he had a bit of a breakdown and began to tell Katie that she was clueless as to not see what her boyfriend was up to all them years ago though.
I liked that there wasn’t much drama with Lydia who he dated at the beginning and I really enjoyed the ending especially the epilogue.

 

 

Leave a comment